Winning Start to the Season

The 3rd team opened their league campaign with a solid victory against a good and well organised Novos team.

The starting line up saw Michael Hastie, James Murray and Matthew Whitfield making their first appearances in a senior Blaydon team having stepped up from the youth section, and each of them gave an excellent account of themselves.

The early exchanges were as you would expect in the first game of the season but it was Blaydon who took the lead with a well worked try, successfully converted by the boot of Murray.

The Forwards dominated at scrum and lineout time winning ball and allowing the backs a platform to score from on a regular basis.

After half time Novos took control of the game however Blaydon were guilty of some poor discipline at the breakdown allowing Novos the opportunity to run penalties and score two tries, but from then onwards it was all Blaydon.

The excellent Mark Todd won a penalty centre field,  Blaydon opted to kick to the corner. Todd secured the lineout ball and the forwards worked hard to secure a drive over try.

Novos then had a series of attacking phases but the Blaydon defence was excellent. Strachan and Convery then worked hard in centre field to turn the ball over and set Joe Melia away. Melia released Murray on the wing who raced away up field and return the ball to Melia who broke a tackle and powered himself over the line.

With Novos becoming increasingly frustrated and Blaydon looking to increase the score the game threatened to bubble over in the closing moments but the referee sensibly called time.

Thanks must go to Windy and Keith Winter for providing cover from the bench

Next Week – Durham City at home. 1.45 meet for a 3pm kick off

Blaydon 38vs19 Novos


15. Chris Hamilton, 14. Scott Whitfield, 13. Robert Pyle, 12. Liam Wright, 11. James Murray, 10. Chris Coates, 9. Steven Thackwray, 1. Adam Keller, 2. Michael Hastie, 3. Joe Melia, 4. Jonny Shaw, 5. Ryan Convery, 6. Matthew Whitfield, 7. Mark Todd, 8. Andrew Strachan (c)

Replacements – Dave Miller, Keith Winter